SAGY-Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana

The Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY) has been launched by the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India on 11th October, 2014. Under this scheme, Hon’ble Member of Parliament (MPs) will identify initially one Gram Panchayat of population 3000-5000 other than his/her own village or that of his/her spouse to be developed by 2016 and further two such Gram Panchayats (GPs) to be developed upto 2019. Lok Sabha MPs has to choose a GP from within their constituency and Rajya Sabha MPs a GP from the rural area of a district of their choice from which they are elected. Thereafter, 5 Adarsh Grams (one per year) will be selected and developed by 2024. These GPs will be developed as Adarsh Gram using convergence with various Centrally Sponsored and State Schemes to motivate the neighbouring villages to make their GPs as Adarsh Village.

There are 10 Lok Sabha MPs and 5 Rajya Sabha MPs in Haryana State. All these 15 Hon’ble MPs are adopting GPs, under Phases of the scheme. The Deputy Commissioners of the concerned districts have been appointed as the Nodal officer of the GPs under this scheme. A Base Line Survey in the MoRD’s prescribed format has been done in the selected GPs. Gram Sabha and on the basis of the outcomes of the survey a Village Development Plan is prepared in which priority of works are decided. These VDPs are discussed in the district level committee with the officers of the concerned departments. The execution of the works of VDP are done as per the timeline. The State Level Committee review the performance of the scheme. Entire process is uploaded in the online MIS of the scheme at   The MoRD, GoI review the progress in their meetings.